Québec drapeau
REBATE for used vehicle

A maximum of 1 000 rebates will be granted for eligible used all-electric vehicles. Find out more about conditions for participation.

"Fill up" at home

Costs and Use

Here is some information to help you better understand these types of vehicles.

Charging

Your home is the main place for charging your electric vehicle. A standard 120 volt outlet may be suitable for a plug-in hybrid. If you have an all-electric vehicle or an extended-range electric vehicle, it would be better to have a 240 volt station, which makes it possible to charge the battery in half the time. See the charging section for more information.

Battery Life

The capacity of the electric battery varies from one type of vehicle to another.

As with conventional vehicles, factors such as temperature, road conditions, and driving habits have an impact on battery life—and thus the vehicle's range. Adopting behaviors to optimize fuelCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre economy helps increase the vehicle's battery life.

Automakers offer an eight-year warranty on electric vehicle batteries.

Cost to "Fill Up"

In Québec charging a vehicle costs around $200 to $300 a year to travel 20,000 km. The energy costs of an electric vehicle are therefore eight times lower than those of a gas-powered vehicle, calculating the cost of a liter of gas at $1.35. What's more, using an electric vehicle will shield you from unpredictable fuel price swings.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions

A total of 98% of the electricity produced in Québec comes from a clean and renewable source—hydroelectricity. It is a tremendous advantage to be able to charge electric vehicles without the electricity generation resulting in increased GHG emissions and other air emissions.

Québec drapeau
Salon de l’auto
de Montréal

Du 20 au 29 janvier 2017, de 10 h à 20 h.

Profitez des essais routiers organisés par
CAA-Québec avec huit modèles de VE : Chevrolet Bolt et Volt, Nissan Leaf, Kia Soul EV, BMW i3 et X5 Hybride, Ford Focus EV et Mitsubishi I-MiEV.

Renseignements

Faire le plein à la maison

Coûts et utilisation

Voici quelques renseignements qui vous permettront de mieux connaître ce type de véhicules.

Recharge

Votre maison est l'endroit principal pour recharger votre véhicule électrique. Une prise de courant standard de 120 volts peut convenir pour une hybride rechargeable. Si vous possédez un véhicule tout électrique ou un véhicule électrique à autonomie prolongée, une borne de 240 volts serait préférable. Elle permet de réduire de moitié le temps de recharge. Consultez la section sur la recharge pour en apprendre davantage.

Autonomie de la batterie

La capacité de la batterie électrique varie d'un type de véhicule à l'autre.

Comme pour les véhicules traditionnels, la température, les conditions routières et les habitudes de conduite font varier l'autonomie de la batterie. Adopter l'écoconduiteCet hyperlien s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre aide à prolonger l'autonomie du véhicule.

Les constructeurs automobiles offrent une garantie de huit ans sur les batteries pour véhicules électriques.

Coût du plein à l'électricité

Au Québec, recharger son véhicule coûte entre 200 et 300 dollars par année pour parcourir 20 000 km. Les frais en énergie d'un véhicule électrique sont environ huit fois moins élevés que ceux d'un véhicule à essence, en calculant le coût du litre d'essence à 1,35 $. De plus, l'utilisation d'un véhicule électrique vous met à l'abri des fluctuations imprévisibles du prix de l'essence.

Émissions de gaz à effet de serre

De toute l'électricité produite au Québec, 98 % provient de source propre et renouvelable, soit l'hydroélectricité. C'est un immense avantage de pouvoir recharger les véhicules électriques sans que la production d'électricité entraîne une augmentation des émissions de GES et d'autres rejets atmosphériques.

Portail gouvernemental

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2011