Multi-unit building charging station rebate

Notice – Unusual processing times

We currently receive a high volume of rebate applications and our processing times are longer than normal, from 12 to 16 weeks..

Do you own an electric vehicle or live in a multi-unit residential building?

Do you own a multi-unit residential building and are you planning to install charging stations to enable your tenants to recharge their electric vehicles?

Financial assistance is available for the acquisition, lease and installation of one or more 240 VAC charging stations for multi-unit residential buildings. The rebate may be as much as much as $5,000 per charging station.

Financial assistance

Acquisition and installation

The financial assistance granted for the acquisition and installation of charging stations for multi-unit residential buildings will be the lesser of the following amounts:

Lease and installation of a charging station

The financial assistance for the lease and installation of charging stations for a multi-unit residential building corresponds to:

The total amount of financial assistance shall not exceed $5,000 per wireless charging station or per connector.

If the charging station is leased, the applicant must provide a lease showing that he or she meets the other eligibility requirements of the program, notably the requirement to keep the charging station in operation for at least three years.

Maximum amount of financial assistance

Only one charging station per vehicle is eligible for financial assistance for the same applicant and the same address. However, if a new owner acquires the vehicle, he or she will also be eligible for a rebate for the installation of a charging station at a different address.

For all other applicants who do not own an electric vehicle but who own or manage a multi-unit residential building, the maximum amount of financial assistance granted per building per fiscal year is set at:

Number of residential units per building Maximum amount
5 to 9 $10,000
10 to 19 $20,000
20 et + $25,000

To obtain additional information

Useful references

Want to install a charging station in the parking area of a multi-unit residential building but don’t know where to begin?

Consult the guide Electric Vehicle Charging For Multi-Unit Residential Buildings This link will open in a new window. produced by Hydro-Québec. It includes tips on how to proceed, the installation and operating conditions of the charging stations, possible solutions, the importance of charge controllers, estimated costs and how ensure optimal use of the charging stations.

Accessibility

If your building is accessible to people with reduced mobility, it would be logical to make the charging stations you install there accessible to them as well. Refer to Section 4.8 of Hydro-Québec’s Technical Installation Guide for Electric Vehicle Charging Stations PDF to learn more about what to take into consideration.

Transition énergétique Québec

Remboursement pour une borne multilogement

Changements à venir le 1er janvier 2021

Veuillez noter que dès le 1er janvier 2021, certains coûts associés aux travaux d’installation d’infrastructures prêtes à accueillir des bornes de recharge seront désormais considérés comme des dépenses admissibles pour le volet Borne de recharge en multilogement.

Pour lire l'avis détaillé.

Vous êtes le propriétaire d’un véhicule électrique et habitez un bâtiment multilogement?

Vous êtes le propriétaire d’un bâtiment multilogement et vous envisagez l’installation de bornes de recharge pour permettre à vos locataires de recharger leur véhicule électrique?

Une aide financière est offerte pour l’acquisition, la location et l’installation d’une ou de plusieurs bornes de recharge de 240 volts pour multilogement. Le remboursement peut atteindre 5 000 $ par borne.

Aide accordée

Acquisition et installation

L’aide financière pour l’acquisition et l’installation d’une borne de recharge pour multilogement correspond au moindre des montants suivants :

Location et installation d’une borne

L’aide financière pour la location et l’installation d’une borne de recharge pour multilogement correspond à :

Le montant total de l’aide financière ne peut excéder 5 000 $ par borne de recharge sans fil ou par connecteur.

Si la borne est louée, le demandeur devra fournir un bail de location démontrant qu’il répond aux autres conditions d’admissibilité du programme et, notamment, à celle de maintenir la borne en service pendant au moins trois ans.

Limitations de l’aide financière

Une seule borne de recharge peut être financée par véhicule pour un même demandeur et une même adresse. Cependant, si le véhicule change de propriétaire, le nouveau propriétaire sera à son tour admissible au remboursement pour l’installation d’une borne à une adresse différente.

Pour les autres types de demandeurs, qui ne sont pas propriétaires d’un véhicule électrique, mais propriétaires ou gestionnaires d’un bâtiment multilogement, la somme maximale de l’aide financière attribuée par bâtiment par année financière est fixée à :

Nombre de logements par bâtiment Montant maximum
5 à 9 10 000 $
10 à 19 20 000 $
20 et + 25 000 $

En savoir davantage

Références utiles

Vous aimeriez faire installer des bornes de recharge dans un bâtiment multilogement mais vous ne savez pas par où commencer?

Consultez le guide La recharge de véhicules électriques dans un multilogement Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre. produit par Hydro-Québec. Vous y trouverez des conseils sur la démarche à suivre, les conditions d'installation et d'utilisation, les solutions disponibles et l’importance des contrôleurs de charge, les coûts à envisager ou encore les choix à faire pour une gestion optimale de l’utilisation des bornes.

Accessibilité

Si votre immeuble est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite, il serait logique que les bornes installées le soient aussi. Vous pouvez vous référer à la section 4.8 du Guide d’installation technique pour les bornes de recharge pour véhicule électrique PDF d’Hydro-Québec pour en apprendre davantage sur les éléments à considérer.